The light at the end of the tunnel…

Today, for the first time in ages, I woke up feeling really depressed. And it was all my own fault (isn’t it always?)

Over the past few weeks/months I had come to believe that the was a path open to me which would take me in a new direction. To make my life better and happier. But instead, when I woke up today I realised that I was actually deluding myself. The option wasn’t there at all. It was like being hit in the face by a frying pan.

Sometimes we are presented with a fork in the road, and we have a real opportunity to change the course of our lives. Other times, we think we can see a fork, but in reality, it’s just a animal-run through the undergrowth and leads us no-where.

This morning I realised that I had left the path and was heading in to the undergrowth and was facing the prospect of getting hurt or injured. And so I had to stop and back track.

I talked the situation through with a close friend who basically said that God would make the fork in the road appear when the time was right. And so I have spent a fair bit of today in prayer and conversation with God. And I know that one day, that new path will open up for me.

In the meantime, I will remember that the light at the end of the tunnel isn’t necessarily the exit, it could be a train coming the other way!

One Response to “The light at the end of the tunnel…”

  1. Regrets, wrong decisions and hindsight « The Unknown Person’s Blog Says:

    […] regrets, but the big ones such as “I wished I’d never had that relationship”. Secondly, the post I did the other week about heading off down a wrong turn in life. And thirdly a Church service […]

Leave a comment