Wilt thou be my Dearie?

Ok, it’s poets day again, and as a follow up to the one from two weeks ago here’s a second from Robert Burns.

Wilt thou be my Dearie?
When Sorrow wring thy gentle heart,
O wilt thou let me cheer thee!
By the treasure of my soul,
That’s the love I bear thee:
I swear and vow that only thou
Shall ever be my Dearie!
Only thou, I swear and vow,
Shall ever be my Dearie!
Lassie, say thou lo’es me;

Or, if thou wilt na be my ain,
O say na thou’lt refuse me!
If it winna, canna be,
Thou for thine may choose me,
Let me, lassie, quickly die,
Still trusting that thou lo’es me!
Lassie, let me quickly die,
Still trusting that thou lo’es me!

I love this poem because I can relate to it.

2 Responses to “Wilt thou be my Dearie?”

  1. kaz Says:

    there will be many tears today x

  2. steaders Says:

    Yeah there always are. But I still keep coming back to this one. It sums me up

Leave a Reply

