Friends

As some of you will know, I’ve been through a pretty rough patch lately. And I’ve been on a bit of an emotional roller-coaster with a few ups and lots of downs. The deaths of three friends and family in less than 48 hours has that effect. But the funerals are all over now, and I think I’m over the worst of it.

And I would like to say thank you to all my friends that have supported over those last three weeks. Quiet a few of them offered to listen to me if I wanted to talk, and some of them certainly got their ear bent on ,ore than one occasion. The conversations I’ve had, whether it was face to face, by email or instant messaging, has been invaluable. Some of them had problems of their own, but they were still prepared to listen to me. Of course, I returned the favour and was more than happy to listen to them talk about what was troubling them.

We don’t always let people see how we are feeling, or how a situation is affecting us. We put on the brave face and carrying on as normal. But inside we are going to pieces. It’s at times like these that we need good friends. Sometimes just talking about a problem helps you get through it. Other times just knowing that someone is there is all that is needed.

So if you’re one of those who offered me a shoulder then thanks. And if you’re one of the unfortunate ones who had to put up with me babbling on then double thank you. And to the friend who offered a shoulder and ice-cream: I’ll come round for the ice-cream later!

2 Responses to “Friends”

  1. kaz Says:

    Friendship is a two way thing. Thank you for your friendship too x

  2. Past, present and future #1 « The Unknown Person’s Blog Says:

    […] you can as well. I have some good friends who have helped me through this period as I mentioned in Friends. As well as getting me through the emotional stress I’ve been through, they have also helped with […]

Leave a Reply

