Twelve

Twelve years ago today was the happiest day in my life. It was the day my daughter was born.

My wife was two weeks past her due date and I took her into hospital at 8am to have labour induced. At 9pm, I was asked to go home as there was no chance of anything happening that night and visiting hours had finished at 8pm! So off I went for the night.

At about 10.15pm the phone rings

“Mr Steadman?”

“Yes”

“It’s the hospital, your wife’s in labour”

I reckon I was in the car before they even replaced the phone

Our daughter was born at 11.54pm.

Six years ago her mother and I split up and she spent the first year with me, and the rest with her mum (and stepdad). She’s not perfect, but I wouldn’t change her. She’s the most important person in my life.

Leave a Reply

