What is NaBloPoMo?

So what is NaBloPoMo and why am I involved? These are two good questions, and I keep asking myself the second!

NaBloPoMo is the National Blog Posting Month. I believe it’s primarily a US thing, but they’re happy for outsiders to join in. The idea behind it is to get people to post a item on either their own blog or the NaBloPoMo blog every day. You sign up for it in advance, and then for one whole month you bog every day. That’s the theory anyway.

It’s helpful for those people who want to get in to the habit of regularly blogging. You’ve set yourself the challenge, and  by signing up you’ve made it known to the whole world. So if you don’t manage to blog every day, lots of people know, you can’t easily hide it.

So why have I joined? Because I would like to be able to write a semi-decent blog and I don’t want it to just be a diary. Whilst I’m at work I have plenty of ideas for items to write about, but as soon as I sit in front of the keyboard those ideas just seem to disappear. But now I have to discipline myself in to keeping those ideas, nurturing them and writing something. I will be posting a mixture of items which I hope will be interesting to a wide range of people. Some of it will be just random mutterings (a bit like this), some will be my views on a particular subject (such as this one) and some will be the reviews I write for qype.

The first major hurdle I will encounter is going to be this weekend. Due to the fact that I’m involved in a production of Cinderella on Friday and Saturday, I’m hardly going to be home, let alone near the pc. At this point in time I have no idea how I’m actually going to be able to write let alone post it!

One Response to “What is NaBloPoMo?”

  1. Devyl Says:

    Just a suggestion: Write the posts ahead of time, then post them on the days they are do. I, too, had a little difficulty determining how i would manage certain days. I have a TomBoy (http://www.gnome.org/projects/tomboy/) note set up with two blogs in it. Now I just copy/paste to a blog note, then submit!

Leave a Reply

