Memories

Whenever my daughter comes to stay at my flat, I try to get her to tidy her room up, and hopefully clear out some of the toys, games, books and videos that she’s grown out of. She has probably still got stuff from when she was a toddler, eight or nine years ago! I tell her that by clearing out the stuff she no longer needs, users or wants, she will have room for new things. Unlike some parents that I know, there is no way that I would sort through her stuff without her being present. I know some parents decide when their children have grown to old for something and throw it out. Not me. I couldn’t through anything of hers away unless she tells me to. Even though she’s only with me during the holidays, it’s still her room, and her things.

Well, normally it would be easier to get blood from a stone, but this week she took be by surprise and cleared out her book case. Two whole shelves of books and videos were removed and promptly deposited in my hands to dispose of.  Now I would just like to point out that I have no intention of just throwing this stuff away, it will be given a good home, probably via a local charity shop.

Now the problem is that I can’t actually bear to get rid of some of these things. Some of the books are actually precious to me, if not her. I like books, and to an extent I collect them. I still have my almost complete set of Enid Blyton’s Famous Five books – it was a complete set but somehow during the journey of my life I have mis-placed one or two. So when I see that she no longer wants her collection of Roald Dahl I feel that I have to keep them. Likewise the Dr Seuss books – I just have to keep The Cat in the Hat! And then there’s the books that we used to read at bedtime. The ones that were her favourites, or mine. Books like “Are You Asleep Rabbit?” or “Little Bear’s Trousers”. The ones which just thinking about getting rid of bring a tear to my eye.

So after all this time and effort spent getting her to have a clear out, it’s actually me that’s going to keep some of it. Without her knowing of course. Well at least for the moment. When she’s grown up, and got kids of her own, I’ll bring them out and read them to my grandchildren. Or just embarrass her! BUt then, that’s what dad’s do isn’t it?

[This was supposed to be the first post of NaBloPoMo – National Blog Posting Month where I write 1 post a day for the whole of the month. But it looks like I failed by a few minutes to get this done by midnight. Ho hum]

One Response to “Memories”

  1. mousewords Says:

    Aw! 🙂

    I’m glad my folks were the same way; the one time I decided I was “too old” for my favorite non-Barbie fashion doll, and gave her and her vast wardrobe away, I regretted it. She wound up being a collector’s item. Sheesh. 🙂

Leave a Reply

