Conscience

It’s been a while since I last blogged for a couple of reasons. Firstly, I’ve been heavy involved in an amateur production of Fiddler on the Roof with Patcham Barnstormers. Normally I’m responsible for the lighting of shows along with my colleague Clive. In this show however, I also took on the role of the Bottle Dancer. As a person who does not like going on stage in front of a audience, this has been a real trial. We have now finished our run of four shows at our home venue at Patcham Methodist Church, and next week we will be doing two further shows at Dorset Gardens Methodist Church.

The second reason for the delay in writing is more to do with what to write. I’ve known for several days what I wanted to write about, but not the words to use. I think I can now, so here goes…

As a Christian, I have a set of values and principles which I live by. Sometimes though Christians are faced with the temptation to break these. In the vast majority of these situations it is quite easy to resist. However, very occasionally we are placed in a position were we really struggle to do the right thing. Over the past few months I have found myself in one of these positions – in fact I still am. I cannot go into too many details for fear of breaking friend’s trust. A friend has told me that they are unhappy and plan to do something about it. What they plan to do is against the teachings of Christ, and therefore I should try to talk them out of it. However, I know that they would be deeply unhappy if they were not go through it. There are several other factors involved which I cannot divulge unfortunately, all of which means I am struggling with my conscience. So my question to you, dear reader, is: would Christ expect us to follow his teachings if it means sticking to a badly made decision and unhappiness? I’m sorry if this post makes little sense – I feel that trust is important and so I have been unable to explain the situation completely.

Leave a Reply

